• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Brotherly Love

Brothers in ChristI had a great conversation last night with Mark Knetsch, who is one of the people who is most near and dear to my heart. There are few people in the world that I tell on a consistent basis that I love him. I know that it is strange for a couple of guys to say those three words, but I mean it when I say it, and I know that he does too.

I think that Christians have strayed some over the years from the Biblical idea of brotherly and sisterly love. I don’t know if it has been homophobia or less of a focus on community or what, but when Paul says to greet one another with a holy kiss and we greet one another with a holy handshake, there is something lost. At least a hug would be better, but we have to be careful there because if a guy and a girl were to hug, then it might be considered too sexual. Its just a tough, sticky area. All I know for sure is that Christians should be a great model of truly loving community, and I think we should be ok with saying that we love each other showing each other affection because we should love one another with the love of Christ. So next time you meet a Christian brother or sister, don’t be afraid to give ’em a hug (it could even be a man hug with the chest bump and customary slaps on the back) and say “I love you man.”

Leave a Reply

