• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Understanding the Gospel More after a Month

I can hardly believe it, but Elliot is a month old today.  It seems like so much has happened in the past month, but it also seems that it has gone by so quickly.  To think that a little over a month ago, Stephanie and I were trying to cope with living in different states while we waited for Elliot to arrive, and now we have settled into our new life in Georgia and our new role as parents.  The transition has been nothing less than…crazy.  I don’t think there is any other way to describe it.
We celebrated the one-month anniversary of Elliot’s birth today by taking him to church!  He didn’t last long as he had to be taken out during the sermon, but the mere fact that he and Stephanie could join me at Redeemer for church was a huge step.  A good night’s sleep contributed to that immensely.
It has been hard to write recently with all the busyness of Elliot, a new job, a new house, kicking off the fall schedule, and just normal life, but I hope to get back in to blogging on a regular basis.  One thing that has been really neat now that I have become a father is a deeper understanding of the gospel.  There is something about having a son (or daughter, I would also imagine) that helps me to understand the gospel just a little bit more.  I can look at Elliot, looking so peaceful as he sleeps, and not being able to imagine how I would feel if something happened to him.  I can’t imagine what the Father went through watching his Son suffer and die.  I don’t ever want to hear Elliot say to me “Why have you forsaken me?”  Needless to say, the love that God has for his people to save them through the death of his Son has taken on a whole new meaning for me.
With all that said, here are some new pics of Elliot taken recently for you all to enjoy.  He is a growing boy.  He weighed 9 lbs. 11 oz. on Friday when Stephanie took him to the doctor.  That means that he has gained 2 lbs. and is on his way to being able to weigh enough to sleep through the night.  (Can’t wait for that!)

Leave a Reply

