• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Going Deeper

I was looking back at some of my old blog posts recently, and I realized that I used to post a lot more, and I used to post a lot more reflectively. Lately, I have been posting a lot of simply what has been going on, with plenty of pictures and videos. With life as crazy as it has been the last year, my time for reflection has taken a nose dive. One of my resolutions for this year is to be more reflective. I know that isn’t very quantifiable like “I’m going to run 3 times a week,” but that’s fine by me.

Last year I resolved to read the Bible through in a year. This was my second successful attempt at this feat. This year, I’m taking a slightly different approach with my quiet times. Instead of trying to drink from a firehose like I did last year, I am going to scoop up water with my hands (hopefully you catch that metaphor). For the next 6 months, I will be traveling through the Epistles of the New Testament, starting with Romans and ending with Jude in June. It’s been a great expereicne over the past 3 days because I can read the passage, and then re-read it, and even read it again while checking cross references and reading the notes at the bottom. Slow has done me well so far.

The other thing that I am reading this year is Calvin’s Institutes! You may not be a complete nerd like I am and know that this year (2009) marks the 500th anniversary of Calvin’s birth. For those of you who get excited about that kind of stuff, you might want to join me and plenty of other people I’m sure (including many folks from RTS).

These are great resolutions, and I look forward to keeping them throughout 2009, but what my desire for this year is (and for the rest of my life) is not to have success in keeping resolutions, but to have deeper relationship with the Lord. Hopefully, these resolutions will help me in that, but if they don’t, they will be out the window in a flash.

And I wouldn’t be a proud papa if I didn’t post any pictures of my son that I love so much. Here are some pictures of him sitting up recently. Notice the ball that he has gravitated to. Interesting.

One Response

  1. I love the reflective you, and I love the pic of Elliot in the close hamper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

