• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Elliot’s ‘Holy Water’ Baptism, take 2

[For those of you who already read this, I added a picture video right before the large pictures. Check it out!]

In a small way, Elliot became like Jesus this past weekend: both were baptized with water from the Jordan River. How in the world did that happen, you might ask? Well, 10 years ago, I participated in a program called Facing Your Future. Thirty-five high CRC high school students from around the country and Canada gathered at Calvin Theological Seminary for a month. We spent three weeks at the seminary, engaging in theological and ministry discussions with seminary professors (and having a ton of fun). The final week was spent in Israel, seeing and experiencing Biblical sites. It was one of the most amazing months of my life. While we were in Israel, one out of our group of 35 was baptized in the Jordan River. While that was happening, I thought that it would be neat if I could baptize my children with water from the Jordan. This is kind of a crazy thought for an 18 year old with no prospect of children in the foreseeable future. So I took a large empty bottle of water, and filled it with water from the Jordan. Taking it home was no problem because you could take water on a plane then. The only problem was storing it. My mom had the idea of putting it into jars and pressure sealing the tops, so that is what we did. I now have 3 jars of Jordan River water. The first one was used Sunday for Elliot’s baptism.

Our pastor informed the congregation that Elliot was going to be baptized with water from the Jordan. He used it to make the point that the water of baptism doesn’t actually save us, which is so true. It really doesn’t matter that Elliot was baptized with “holy water” from the Jordan. His baptism is no more special than mine or Stephanie’s or anyone else’s. Elliot’s baptism is special because God’s covenant promises were signified and sealed to him on Sunday. Stephanie and I pray that Elliot will one day claim those covenant promises as his own.

Sunday was a very emotional day for me. Not only was Elliot baptized in front of the whole congregation and 2 full rows of our family who came in from out of town, but I also had the opportunity to preach. I don’t know what I was thinking when I asked Pastor Charlie if I could do that. J Halfway through the sermon, I was using Elliot’s baptism as a illustration to a point I was making, and I almost completely broke down in tears. I had to step back from the pulpit, take a sip of water, apologize, and then continue. What a day.

Thank you to everyone who was able to come out and join us on such a special day. Those of you who could not make it were missed tremendously, and we hope to see you all soon.

Below are some pictures from the baptism. If you would like to see even more, scroll down and click on the album. It will take you to another site where all of the pictures from the weekend are located.
Vodpod videos no longer available.

Elliot's Baptism Weekend
4 Responses

  1. All the pictures were great! I’ve never seen so many cameras pointed at one little person. We’re sorry we missed it! See you tomorrow!

  2. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO cool!! I never knew you had 3 jars of water from the Jordan!!! What if you have 4 kids????

  3. We will re-use the water. I just have to find a way to reseal it in the jar.

  4. That is awesome!!! I’m so excited for y’all that everything went so well. What were you thinking? preaching on your child’s baptismal day? Are you kidding me? I’m glad you were able to get through it well though.

    Y’all are always in our thoughts and prayers. We miss you so much!!!

    Love,
    ‘Chelle (for Damien and Julianna too)

Leave a Reply

