• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

A Holy Week

Last week was quite eventful here in Augusta. Yes it was Master’s Week, and our little town becomes the focus of the golf world. This town completely changes. Most of the people who live here “get out of Dodge” as they say, while so many other people are flocking in. I was able to go to one of the practice rounds on Monday to see what all the fuss was about. Needless to say, I was extremely impressed and got caught up in the mystique of it all. Ive never seen anything so perfectly manicured as that course is. Granted, I don’t have a whole lot to compare it to, but it was still amazing. The grass in the area that crowds were able to walk on was like carpet. I can’t imagine what the greens were like. And yes, I did get to see Tiger. I got within about 10 feet of him. Pretty cool. (Sorry thaeaster2009t I couldn’t get you tickets Gameech. This opportunity came up on Sunday night.)
Not only was it Masters Week, but more importantly, it was Holy Week. Unfortuntely, the two weeks coincided this year. I’m sure it doestn’ matter anywhere else in the world, but it matters a great deal here. We had a great Maundy Thursday service at our church, but with everyone out of town, we only had about 20 people attend. I honestly am not concerned about numbers at all, but I was just sad that others missed out. It was great to have an intimate service with those who were able to attend, and I was moved by the significance of it all. What really struck Stephanie and I this year is Christ drinking the cup of God’s wrath for us. The physical pain that he suffered was one thing, but having the wrath of God poured out on him is in a totally different category. I can’t even imagine, nor do I want to. Thank you Jesus.
And finally, on Friday, we headed up to Dalton for the weekend to celebrate Easter with part of Steph’s family. We could have just sent Elliot up there, and no one would have noticed a difference. He was such a hit! Everyone really loved him and kept saying how good and happy of a baby he was. He was definitely on his game this weekend. We had a great Easter Celebration at Grammie and Paw Paw’s church on Sunday (He is risen! He is risen indeed!). Oh, that every Sunday was like Easter Sunday!
Now we are back to the grind, and my nose will be in books all week long. My oral examiniation in front of presbytery is now a week away. I will be going before the candidacy committee on the 20th in the evening and then before the floor of presbytery the following day. Please pray for me. I would appreciate it. Please remember Stephanie as well this week. Even though she isn’t the one who is studying, she has to deal with a husband who is always studying and stressed out. Please pray that we both have grace and patience this week! Thanks so much, and I’ll let you know how it goes!

One Response

  1. I am not talking to you.

    But if I was I would ask you if you are coming to Orlando in June for the Presbytery (I don’t know what they call it.)

Leave a Reply

