• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Ode to Baby Wise

As I sit hear in the quiet after my sweet child cried for twenty minutes after 45 minutes into his morning nap I continue to keep the long view in mind.   Mike and I have participated in “parent directed feeding” since Elliot’s birth. (For more info read Babywise by the Ezzo’s). It seems that people either love it or hate it. For us it has worked beautifully. Elliot starting sleeping 6-7 hours per night at 7 weeks and we dropped his 10 pm feeding a little before 4 months which meant he was sleeping from 7:30 to 7.  This has been the case with few exceptions for the last five months.

As you can tell from my first line this has not and is not always an easy system.   Lately Elliot has been waking up 45 minutes into a nap, which is normally when you change sleep cycles into a deeper sleep.  He has become curious about things and thinks he has had enough sleep. However, I can tell you from experience, if he does not wake up happy – He is not happy.  Therefore I have to let him “cry it out” for his own good to have a restful nap.

Mike and I have been amazed to see how Elliot can be so upset having to go to sleep to completely happy and content upon waking up rested.   I think it helped knowing too that Babies weighing over 10 lbs do not need food at night.   That is when there little bodies start burning glucagon, the enzyme that breaks down fat.  All I have to do is look at Elliot’s thighs and think God gave you that for a reason. 🙂 We want to train his body to burn fat.
Disclaimer – If this is not your preferred parenting method – Please do not see this as a judgement. We love it and it has worked for us, but do as God leads you.

2 Responses

  1. I love baby wise too! My son is 6.5 month old and we have really had a lot of success doing this program with him. He also had trouble at the 45 minute mark recently. He learned to roll over and was more interested in rolling around in his crib. It only lasted a week, and now we are back to more normal sleep. I hope that your little one gets through this developmental phase and back to having a more sound nap! Check out my websites, I have written a lot about my experience with my son Cooper and sleep, etc.

    blogginaboutbabies.wordpress.com
    cbfoley.com

  2. You go, girl! I’ve used Babywise 3 times now… and all three times – worked fabulously!! Keep up the good work… it really pays off in their toddler years, too, and it makes it great for babysitters!!! Just lay them down, no props, they go right to sleep when they’re supposed to and sleep for the allotted time!! 🙂 Go, go, go, Stephanie!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

