• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Only what’s done for Christ will last

Thank goodness He is not finished with me yet. I recently read two books, “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper and “A Chance to Die” by Elisabeth Elliot. First of all. I highly reccommend both of these books. I also think it is so cool when God uses multiple ways to teach me the same lesson.
Don’t Waste Your Life is about exactly that – not wasting it. In short “to live is Christ and to die is gain” (Phil 1:21) or as a poem states that I have started reciting daily – Only one life, will soon be past, Only what’s done, for Christ will last. I find that if I apply this concept to everything from changing diapers to doing ministry my perspective is much better. Piper expounds on this topic by talking about sacrificial living, sacrificial giving, boasting only in the Cross, missions to neighbors and abroad, and more. I can honestly say that while reading the book I was often nauseated with conviction and for that, I am thankful.
“A Chance to Die” is a fantastic tail of the life of Amy Carmichael. Amy spent her life (44 years with out furlough) rescuing children in India from horrific lives working in Hindu temples. Her life is the archetype of a life not wasted and I was inspired to live for Christ as she did.
So what? Let’s just say, He is not finished with us yet. Mike and I have been on crazy ride of determining what all this looks like practically. We are earnestly seeking God’s will in our lives. I am sure we will experience growing pains, but I am looking forward to it. I am really starting to understand that suffering is a blessing, and that honestly if “life is good” as our culture states, that you/I are probably not living the abundant life God calls us too. Don’t misunderstand, I am not going to go out and create hardships and I will also be joyful and thankful for blessed easy times. However, I am learning that if we enter into the life God has truly called us too – suffering will follow.
For the first time in my life I can say I that I long for Christ’s return. In that past I thought it would be neat if I was around, and I looked forward to being in heaven, but this is different. I am starting to feel like a stranger in this world. It seems that daily I am bombarded with heart breaking news, marriages struggling, sick children, people in bondage to sin, and so many lost people. This drives me to me knees in prayer for revival for our country. It creates the burning desire for Christ to come and make all things new. I am flawed and my need for continued sanctification is evident, but I am so thankful for what God has been teaching me.

Leave a Reply

