• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

30 and Fabulous

I’m 30!! I really can not believe it. The night before my birthday I spent time just thinking about the fact that it was my last night of my twenties – and then being grateful!

True to form, my husband made certain the I had a fabulous birthday. He started on the Monday prior to my birthday with “birthday week.” Birthday week was kind of a tradition growing up as my one and only sister’s birthday is 4 days before mine. Each day Mike gave me a small gift and a clever card with a clue about what that day’s gift would be. On day one of birthday week I received a close line ( I have been drying the clothes on the line to save money and I really enjoy it). Day two, he got us a fan for our room, day three was a sunflower plant, and day four a gift cert for a pedi.

On my actual birthday he sent me out with my sister and Janet for a day of shopping and pedicures while he and my Dad watched the boys. I was gone from the house for 5 hours!!! When we returned a dinner of steak, hairy corn ( deserves a post all to itself) and salad was in the works. Following dinner we played with the kids for a while before putting them to bed. This was wise as Elliot’s birthday is the day after mine and opening presents might have caused quite a melt down for the little guy.

For dessert we had chocolate raspberry cake made by our Pastor’s wife – as always – fabulous! My gifts this included various amounts of money from our family’s that totaled enough for me to get my long awaited new floors for the kitchen!!! (currently we have white vinyl with holes in it)

And just when I though the day was over – having already been one of the best days of my life – Mike pulls out the guitar.
Now here is the thing – to be honest last time I heard him play – he was not that great. To my sweet surprise he started strumming like a pro. I could tell he was nervous, but did not know why. He proceeded to serenade me with the following words to the tune of Tim Mcgraw’s “Next Thirty Years”

I think I’ll take a moment to celebrate your age
The ending of an era, and the turning of a page
Now its time to focus on where to go from here
God have mercy on your next 30 years.

In your next 30 years we’re gonna have some fun.
Try to forget about all the crazy things you’ve done
Maybe now you’ve conquered all you adolescent fears
You’ll do it better in your next 30 years.

Your next 30 years the minivan’ll be your ride.
Taking kids to ballgames and all their gear packed up inside.
They’ll be embarrassed but they’ll remember all your cheers.
Mak-ing memories in your next 30 years.

In you next 30 years, our kids will grow up tall,
Pray they turn our Ok and love Jesus most of all.
When pain and sorrow come they’ll run to you to dry their tears.
You’ll be the worlds best Mom, in the next 30 years.
( I am balling by this point !)

Your next 30 years will be the best years of you life
Raise a little family and be a Pastor’s wife
Spending precious moments with the ones that you hold dear
What great times there will be in your next 30 years

I think I’ll take a moment to celebrate my wife
The most amazing women and best thing in my life
So much I don’t deserve that it drives me to tears
(Now really balling)
May God pour out his blessings on, on your next 30 years

Thank you sweet heart – You are the most amazing husband I could have ever dreamed of and the love of my life. I am so thankful to God for you. I can not wait to continue to our lives together and pray that God gives us 30 more years to serve Him.

3 Responses

  1. I was there for the song and it sill made me cry reading it now.

  2. I wasn’t there, but it made me cry too. What an awesome birthday!

  3. Aw, that is awesome! Way to go, Mike!! Sounds like you had a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

