• Facebook

  • Recent Comments

  • The Archive

  • Book Wish List

    My Amazon.com Wish List

Pumpkin Patch!

Pumpkin Patch! Pumpkin Patch! When my mommy told me that daddy was coming home early so we could go to the pumpkin patch, I was so excited! It was all I could think about all day! I even carried around the brochure so that mommy and daddy wouldn’t forget.
When daddy got home, we all dressed up in our ‘county’ clothes and headed for Steed’s Dairy. When we got there, the first thing I saw was the pumpkins! They were so big that I couldn’t even lift them! There were some baby pumpkins too that I really liked.
Then we went to the barn and saw all the animals. Whenever momma or dadda asked me what sound the animals made, I always knew the right answer. I liked the “ewww, pigs” the most. They even tried to dig under the fence to come say hi to me. The big cows were really cool too. I watched them eat, and some of them start walking towards us. I think that the animals really liked me.
Next, I spotted the slides, and I wanted to go down it! It looked like a lot of fun at first, but I thought better of it when I got closer. You can never be too careful around slides, so I decided to jump on the giant pillow instead!
The trampoline at Uncle Troy and Aunt Kathi’s house is fun, but the giant pillow is amazing! I could have jumped on that thing all day long! It was fun to jump with other kids my age, but some of the older kids get a little too rough. I don’t think that they realize that they could hurt themselves if they are not careful. Dadda jumped too high for me and would always make me fall, but jumping with momma was just right! I even tackled dadda when he tried to crawl away from me. The giant pillow was definitely my favorite part.
The hay ride was a little scary at first. I didn’t know where our driver was taking us, but no one else seemed to mind. Then I realized that he was just showing us around the farm, so I was ok with that. We saw trees and fields and cows and birds. It was fun. Oliver even liked it (but he seems to like everything, so I guess that’s not a surprise).
Finally, we had to go home. I got to pick out two baby pumpkins to take home with me! I tried to stall by taking my sweet time picking out the perfect pumpkin, but momma and dadda saw right through my trick. Oh well. They said I have to share one of my pumpkins with Oliver, but I don’t know about that. He doesn’t even know what a pumpkin is yet!
Love,
Elliot Michael Fennema ( I can say my whole name!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses

  1. sweet pictures, stephanie! I am soooo looking forward to our pumpkin patch family day. πŸ™‚

  2. What an awesome ministry you are having into your children’s hearts. Time (quality and quantity) can’t be replaced. Pray for Damien and I as we long to have that back, time with our children. The Lord is in control of every season and things have been leading up to this season for years. It’s just hard seeing your kids crave you and your attention (We figured out just today that Julianna’s love language is time) and not truly be able to give it because of all the good competing priorities. The Harvest moon leading up to All Hallow’s Eve, I am more convinced than ever that we were called to Victoria Chase for such a time as this. Please pray for us and our neighbors – the harvest is plentiful; the workers are few. Thankfully I know who is charge of all the seasons and He is leading me day by day, sometimes even hour by hour. I have peace because I know Him and He has promised to not let me or Damien fail in accomplishing His plans. I was comforted by this quote just yesterday during the heat of the Battle – Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished. I know my husband and my children are my first priorities and reconciling that with my to do list is a struggle everyday. Pray that Jesus will help me understand how to choose the very best things to do each day. You have chosen WISELY.

    Love and miss you so much. More than you know.

    Michelle Jones (for Damien too)

  3. After reviewing the photos again, I’m impressed to say how proud I am of y’all too. Most couples with kids this age would have the kids in reverse order…Daddy with the older one and Mommy with the nursing baby. Good for you in seeing the value of Dad taking ownership of the second addition and how that added “burden” can add to the family load and dynamic. Most folks never see it coming and don’t know how to prevent the natural “split” of duties. Y’all ROCK! But I already knew that… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

